Tags

, ,

I knew I wanted to be a mom ever since my big sister had her baby. My girl friends (who are now plastic surgeons and lawyers) used to joke that I was going to school just to be a housewife. I never imagined I would be learning to take over the family business, I have an immense sense of pride in my stores, Austin Rocks and Wild About Music, I can’t (and don’t want to) imagine my life any other way. I got to be a stay at home mom for three weeks after Doiron was born, it was both glorious and dreadful at the same time. I won’t lie, I pout from time to time about the moments I am missing with my ridiculously adorable and fast growing baby, and I read the blogs of many stay at home moms with a taste of envy in my mouth. But I revel in my time at work and am fascinated with the ins and outs of running a business (or two). Having my time away from Doiron only makes me strive to make our time together as meaningful as possible. And so I bring you “Mama’s Day Off,” here I shall document our adventures from minuscule to grand, Doiron and I are flattered you are joining us!

Today we started with a Christmas-esque breakfast (just a hint: muffins and almost-one-year-olds are a messy affair, I couldn’t bare to document the aftermath, sorry).

20121128-203158.jpgAlso check out my girlfriends amazing site for all you foodies, Fridgg

Then Doiron helped me assess an art project in progress for work…

20121128-203514.jpg
Enough work mom, you promised adventure! To Georgetown we went, I’m in LOVE with this city, I dream of living in one of its beautiful historic houses, even though it would mean doubling my commute to work. It’s not rare for Doiron and I to drive around and drool at the homes while listening to Harry Potter on CD; ok I drool, Doiron sleeps.
Today, we happened upon San Gabriel Park…I cried it was so beautiful. I imagined my family riding their bikes to the park for a picnic and to feed the geese, birthday parties under the arbor and dunks in the lake on sweltering summer days. Doiron, pictured riding one of the geese….

20121128-204300.jpg

20121128-204721.jpg
And finally, no trip to Georgetown is complete without a visit to the Little Loft of Georgetown, they have a lovely selection of second hand clothes for the wee ones at amazing prices.

20121128-205744.jpg
I am a HUGE advocate of shopping local and thrifting! Thanks to the Little Loft I can dress Doiron in style, why do all little boy clothes have to have a puppy dog or sail boat on it?

Stay tuned for more adventures, up next…. Downtown Austin’s Holiday Sing Along and Stroll and Georgetown’s Holiday Home Tour

Can ya tell I like Christmas yet!?

